Yes the award is free. No cost is associated with nomination and been shortlisted. The award is strictly base on merit.

Entries open                      5, May 2020

Entries closes                   5, June 2020

Finalists notified              6, July 2020

Finalist interviews with Journalist for an exclusive in the award edition   July 8 – August 5, 2020

Gala dinner- winners are announced and celebrated November, 13, 2020

The deadline is 5, July, 2020 for all awards

AfriSAFE is an Annual Award project that is committed to celebrating the best of Health, Safety and Wellbeing professionals and their achievements in keeping our facilities and lives safe.

Covering all specialties of Health, Safety and Wellbeing practice, AfriSAFE aims to be the biggest unifying industry catalyst in Africa, recognizing exceptional professionalism, rewarding excellence and raising awareness on prevention of hazards.. The award boasts 10 industry-specific categories, ranging from hospitality to mining and natural resources. Companies are judged on a wide range of occupational health and safety elements, including employee training, OHS management systems, incident investigation, emergency preparedness and innovative health and safety initiatives. 

The winners are recognized at a gala event in Lagos, Nigeria. 

Step 1: Nominate your company or any individual for an award. There are 10 award categories for the organization and 5 for individual. Total of 15 Award categories. All 15 award types have different nominations. Commendation and Merit Award might also be given to entries highly recommended by the judges.

Step 2: Your nomination is vetted to ensure you meet the eligibility requirements and it undergoes a quick initial review. Your nominees will receive a nomination email if they are moving on to the next. They will be required to answer a brief assessment questions and submit required documents.

Step 3: Our judges review your assessment and document submitted, they may require to ask further questions via phone calls. For some of the organizations award categories, we might be required to visit your site. Not all  award category has this requirement. The judges then determine the finalist, who are notified in June.

Step 4: If you are a finalist, you will be required to co-operate with the media team, on a variety of items, such as filming a video, interviewed and submitting photos of your workforce. There are tight deadlines for these, many of which are occurring between July and August, and you will be required to meet these deadlines. Your corporate communication team / department should be carried along early on this to alleviate any concerns.

Step 5: The finalist attend a gala celebration in November in Lagos, Nigeria to receive their certificate for nomination and overall winners are announced and given a distinctive award plaque. While some nominee receive other special gift package.

Yes, you can apply for any or all of the Safety Award

No. Sponsorship or support doesn’t guarantee an award. Sponsors have their benefits.

No. Your nomination information is confidential. The only people who will see it is the AfriSAFE organizing committee and the judges.

Click here to open Form